Erin Flanagan

Deer Season

It’s the opening weekend of deer season in Gunthrum, Nebraska, in 1985, and Alma Costagan’s intellectually disabled farmhand, Hal Bullard, has gone hunting with some of the locals, leaving her in a huff. That same weekend, a teenage girl goes missing, and Hal returns with a flimsy story about the blood in his truck and a dent near the headlight. When the situation escalates from that of a missing girl to something more sinister, Alma and her husband are forced to confront what Hal might be capable of, as rumors fly and townspeople see Hal’s violent past in a new light.

A drama about the complicated relationships connecting the residents of a small-town farming community, Deer Season explores troubling questions about how far people will go to safeguard the ones they love and what it means to be a family.

Erin Flanagan

Erin Flanagan’s next novel, the thriller Blackout, is forthcoming in fall 2022 with Thomas & Mercer. She is also the author of the novel Deer Season and two short story collections–The Usual Mistakes and It’s Not Going to Kill You and Other Stories–all published by The University of Nebraska Press in their Flyover Fiction series. She’s held fellowships to Yaddo, MacDowell, The Sewanee Writers’ Conference, The Breadloaf Writers’ Conference, UCross, and The Vermont Studio Center. She contributes regular book reviews to Publishers Weekly and other venues.

She is an English professor at Wright State University and likes all of her colleagues except one. Erin lives in Dayton, Ohio with her husband, daughter, two cats and two dogs, and her friendly, caustic thoughts.

Other Books by this Author

Pin It on Pinterest